Monthly Challenge Update- August 2018

Related image

I would just like it to be known that I had an awful summer (in terms of reading). I hit a pretty significant slump, which I am still in the middle of, and cannot see the light at the end of the tunnel yet. I have been asked to read and review three ARCs though, so I imagine that is what I will be focusing on for the time being.

General Updates

Books Read this Month: 4

Reviews: 1

Image result for the president is missing Image result for cardboard kingdom Image result for beneath the sugar sky Image result for an anonymous girl

 

Related image

Highlights

The Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell

I was really surprised by this one! I LOVED the premise of the story, that a neighborhood of kids came up with, and maintained these characters/story lines for an entire summer. They played off each other and accepted most everything that was presented. It was like they all took professional acting classes and learned the famous “yes, and” mentality. But in all seriousness, these kids are hella creative, and I wish I grew up in this neighborhood. Summers would have been so much more fun; though they weren’t completely fun for everyone…keep your eyes peeled for my Graphic Novel mini reviews to see more details.

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

From the authors of the bestselling thriller The Wife Between Us, we have an all new book about two women, and all the ways that their lives become entangled. I really didn’t have high hopes for this one. Something about the pressures of following up to such a smash hit led me to be skeptical going in. While I did not like the format in which one of the character’s POV were portrayed, I ended up enjoying this book much more than I originally planned. It was fast paced, and like WBU, kept you second guessing every thought you had about any character or plot point. You literally have no idea who to trust, and in a book that centers on morality, it has you sweating throughout the entire thing. I highly recommend for fans of their first book!

Related image

Challenge Check In

Beat the Back List

 

POPSUGAR

 

Book Riot Read Harder

 

Anyone else getting super annoyed by reading challenges? Just me? Ok then…

Related image

September: “On My Radar”

Image result for catwoman soulstealer Related image Image result for stalking jack the ripper Image result for next year in havana Image result for nerve book Image result for toil and trouble 15 stories

Catwoman: Soulstealer by Sarah J. Maas

Wildcard by Marie Lu

Stalking Jack the Ripper (#1) by Kerri Maniscalco

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft by Jessica Spotswood & Tess Sharpe

 

I honestly have no idea why I do a TBR, I RARELY stick to it, so I tried to do something just a little different this month. Instead of stating which books I’d like to read (and failing miserably) I am simply going to put books that I am interested in, looking at, or would love to get my hands on, for that month. That way, there is not real “commitment” on my part, just sharing some of the ideas floating around inside my head. I WILL include however, the book my fiance selects as my “Must Read” for the month (out of all my physical TBR books).

“Must Read” TBR Book

Related image

I’ve got to re-do my pick from last month because as you can see, I wasn’t reading at all in August, so I am going to give it another try.

Related image

3 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge Update- August 2018

Leave a comment